Monday, 30 November 2015

Advent Calendar introduction

My Advent Calendar this year will feature a symbol on the first and last days and a letter on each of the other days. These letters and symbols will be very easy to spot so there's no searching this year. I was thinking of putting all the letters in order but that would be too easy so I've decided to mix them up a bit. On the 24th December the letters will need to be sorted to solve the message from me.

I am joining in with Julie at KC Court blog where other bloggy Advent Calendars will be featured.


xx


Monday, 23 November 2015

Desiderata 22

22. Strive to be happy.



xx



-Max Ehrmann

Sunday, 22 November 2015

Desiderata 21

Be cheerful.



xx

Saturday, 21 November 2015

Desiderata 20

With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams,
it is still a beautiful world.











xx

Friday, 20 November 2015

Desiderata 19

Therefore be at peace with God,
whatever you conceive Him to be,
and whatever your labors and aspirations,
in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul.



xx

Thursday, 19 November 2015

Desiderata 18

18. And whether or not it is clear to you,
no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.





xx

Wednesday, 18 November 2015

Desiderata 17

You are a child of the universe,
no less than the trees and the stars;
you have a right to be here.





xx

Tuesday, 17 November 2015

Desiderata 16

Beyond a wholesome discipline,
be gentle with yourself.



xx

Monday, 16 November 2015

Desiderata 15

Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.



xx


Sunday, 15 November 2015

Desiderata 14

Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune.
But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings.









xx

Edited:






Saturday, 14 November 2015

Desiderata 13

Take kindly the counsel of the years,
gracefully surrendering the things of youth.



xx


Friday, 13 November 2015

Desiderata 12

Neither be cynical about love;
for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment
it is as perennial as the grass.





xx



Thursday, 12 November 2015

Desiderata 11

Especially, do not feign affection.



Not a chance!

xx



Wednesday, 11 November 2015

Desiderata 10

10. Be yourself.



xx




Tuesday, 10 November 2015

Desiderata 9

But let this not blind you to what virtue there is;
many persons strive for high ideals;
and everywhere life is full of heroism.



xx

Monday, 9 November 2015

Desiderata 8

Exercise caution in your business affairs;
for the world is full of trickery.

I don't do any business with people who call me up on the telephone to sell me insurance, double glazing or to tell me that my bank account has been compromised or my computer has been hacked. I really do wish they would go away.

xx

Sunday, 8 November 2015

Desiderata 7

Keep interested in your own career, however humble;
it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.


My working career is now over but ...


I'm still making our daily bread!
and my desk retired with me.

xx







Saturday, 7 November 2015

Desiderata 6

Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.

I know what my achievements are the best being family and here are some future plans of the crochet kind:-

*start another use up stash blanket
* think up colours for a New Year blanket (think frosty, cold, grey and miserable with a hint of green muted cool colours of the weather and countryside).

xx

Friday, 6 November 2015

Desiderata 5

If you compare yourself with others,
you may become vain or bitter;
for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.


xx

PS Janipi - I raised my glass to help you celebrate yesterday. I couldn't comment as the Google + box wouldn't let me unless I joined Google + which I don't want to do. Live, laugh and love - here's to you.

xx

Thursday, 5 November 2015

Desiderata 4

Avoid loud and aggressive persons,
they are vexations to the spirit.


xx



Wednesday, 4 November 2015

Desiderata 3

Speak your truth quietly and clearly;
and listen to others,
even the dull and the ignorant;
they too have their story.


xx

Tuesday, 3 November 2015

Desiderata - 2

As far as possible without surrender
be on good terms with all persons.


xx










Monday, 2 November 2015

Desiderata 1

Go placidly amid the noise and haste,


and remember what peace there may be in silence.


xx